Nefertari’s Tarot

Since I mentioned I’d recently picked up this deck, I thought I’d do a short post to show some of the cards, as most of the pictures I’ve seen of them online are dreadful. People scan them in, and the scanning makes the gold foil on the cards looks black. So I tried a different tack: I tried photographing them. If only I were a good photographer. Well, I do what I can. Here’s the best I was able to get with my camera (Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ7) in natural early evening room lighting. These were about the best I could do without creating a glaring flash.

It’s a gorgeous deck, and with the black borders I think it’s vastly more attractive than with those hideous blue borders on the other version of the deck, the Tarot of the Sphynx. I’m still annoyed by the multiple languages on the cards, I really wish Lo Scarabeo would get over that. Pick one, and stick with it. Seriously. Maybe I can just paint over the titles on the top ’cause WOW they irritate me.

The cards looks ‘scuffed up’ but it’s deliberate to simulate antiquity. I think that was unnecessary, not sure how it really adds anything. The black borders with the gold foil and the colors of the figures makes a very attractive deck, the scuffs are just kind of silly. In what seems a further effort to differentiate it from the Tarot of the Sphynx, the images are reversed, like a mirror image of the first deck. I don’t own the Tarot of the Sphynx so I’m going off images I find online and reviews I’ve read of it.

The Little White Book (LWB) is in English, French, Italian, Spanish and German, like the titles printed on the cards. It’s standard stuff, brief meanings of each card with no information on the Egyptian mythology. You’ll have to look elsewhere for real information. Luckily, I am deeply immersed in Lon Milo DuQuette’s “Understanding the Thoth Tarot” which has already taught me a bit about it. Most people are familiar with the names Isis, Osiris, Set, Anubis and probably a few others (probably everyone has seen some tv show or other talking about the pyramids and ancient astronauts and so on), but for me it was a superficial acquaintance with the myths. I’ve never spent much time really learning the Egyptian cosmology. I keep seeming to be tugged more and more in that direction, despite my reluctance.

That’s one of the things I love about Tarot, though: It leads you in so many directions, there’s always more to learn.

3 thoughts on “Nefertari’s Tarot

  1. DD,

    Thank you so much for taking the time to scan in the pictures. I think this may be a deck for me! I really like the “scruff” look, at least from what I am seeing here. Perhaps I would have a different opinion of that if I saw them in person.

    When you say that the cards are written in multiple languages, do you mean that each card has the title written in each of the languages? Or that some cards are titled in Italian, others in German, etc?

    Do you have any favorite cards from the deck?

  2. Oh sorry, yes, I was just referring to the titles in multiple languages. If you click the cards you can enlarge the image and see it better. It irritates me to no end, and I find it especially distracting on this deck. They do it on most of their decks. I had actually quit buying any LS decks because of it, but I just couldn’t pass this one up. Some of the recent releases, like the Vampires Tarot of the Eternal Night, have no titles at all on the cards, which I LOVE.

    I love the Moon card in this deck, and that Ace of Cups with the giant scarab beetle, but I haven’t had time to spend with the deck much after I wrote this so I can’t really say about the rest of the cards.

    I hope you can find one at a reasonable price. I lucked out and got this one on EBay for $20, brand new, still shrink-wrapped.

What do you think?

