A Brighter Star?

Lovers Six of Cups BoGo Empress

Pulled three cards last night, as I was feeling pretty low and needed to see if there was a way out (apart from the final way out). Well, this is a different kettle of fish. Not at all what I expected.

Please don’t oversimplify and suggest all I have to do is choose to be happy. I don’t think that’s at all the message I’ve gotten here. The Tarot, in my experience, does not speak in empty platitudes.  Things are never that simple. Unless I was going to turn my back on my family and flee the country to start a new life without them, it’s not that easy.

The Lovers speak of a choice, and also passion. This card conveys both those things like no other depiction of The Lovers I have ever seen. It’s an intensity of longing, and yet the knowledge that when we choose one thing, we lose the other. It’s a painful choice to be made.

The Six of Cups. Whatever Waite may say about it, Crowley titles it Pleasure. Sun in Scorpio. On the Tree of Life, it resides in Tiphareth, Beauty. The Sun is happy here. DuQuette says, “If this is the first card you draw in a tarot reading, you may want to stop right there and quit while you’re ahead.” Harmony has returned after the disappointments of the 4 and 5 of Cups. It’s the beginning happiness, success or enjoyment.

Our Lady Empress embodies the full cycles of birth, life, and death and rebirth. Graciousness, elegance, love, beauty, happiness, success, pleasure. Trump of Venus, and alchemical salt.

Things seem to be looking up. I’ll take it!

One thought on “A Brighter Star?

What do you think?

