Tarot Leaves

No, the Tarot’s not going anywhere.

Tarot Leaves is the name of a new deck by Beth Seilonen, the creator of an astounding number of decks, including Tarot of the Red Jester, The Witch Tarot, Through My Mind, and many others. Beth is a Maine artist, her Web site is Cat’s Eye Art  where you can see most of her decks, if not all. Up until now, her decks have been very beautifully self-published. This is the first one of hers put out by a commercial publisher to my knowledge (Beth, correct me if I’m wrong).

This new one has been published by Schiffer, and housed in one of their lovely hinged lid boxes, accompanied by a lovely little book. The images in the book are black and white, and have only standard Tarot meanings for each card, and two spreads given in the back. The images are all contained within a leaf: maple, apple, oak, and birch. The borders are white, so it may be a bit hard to tell in the images below where the edge of the card is. The titles are done in what looks like embossing, white with gray shading on the edges, but are not actually embossed. They are glossy, but not overly slick like some decks. The cardstock is good but not overly stiff or heavy. You can click each pair below to embiggen.

Next to the Page of Pentacles I’ve shown the card back because it’s just so pretty. And as you can see reversible if that’s your thing. I think the deck has a real New England feel to it with the various leaves used, at least it makes me think of when I lived in Massachusetts. I find it a gentle, soothing deck, and am eager to try reading with it. You can get it directly from Schiffer, I pre-ordered mine from Amazon, Tarot Leaves.

5 thoughts on “Tarot Leaves

  1. Such wonderdul cards. If I hadn’t already ordered three decks in the last couple of weeks (yeah) I’d be getting a copy. I think they’d be more of a personal choice than a practical reading deck but I’ll have to try them out and see.

    Blessings.

  2. I’ll be honest, when I ordered it I had thought the deck was an expansion of her Maple Tarot, which it’s not. I thought the Tower card was particularly interesting, with the leaf itself exploded. I love the colors.

    I’ve been on a bit of a deck-binge myself lately, I’m prepping a few more mini-reviews 😉

What do you think?

