Oracle of Shadows & Light

Next up, here’s another EBay purchase. The Oracle of Shadows & Light is a 45-card oracle deck, so not Tarot, but I couldn’t resist the lovely illustrations. The book is by Lucy Cavendish, the illustrations by Jasmine Becket-Griffith, published by Blue Angel Publishing in Victoria, Australia. It came out in 2010, and I think the first edition is sold out (meaning the publisher has sold all their copies to resellers, but you can probably still find copies somewhere) as Amazon is already listing a ‘release date’ for for what I assume is a reprint in 2012. It looks like the packaging has been redesigned on the upcoming edition, so I guess I have a first edition.

The cards and book come in a very sturdy two-piece, lift off box. The cards are larger than average Tarot cards, measuring 5 3/8” x 3 3/8” / 14 x 9.6CM (according to iruler.net. Yes, I was too lazy to put the computer down, get up and walk across the room to fish a ruler out of the desk. In my defense, I am surrounded by cards, book, and box – and cat – strewn all over the bed as I write. Too much to move or climb over). Call the book 6.5”x 4 5/8”. It’s a lovely little book, too. Each card gets approximately 2 to 2 1/2 pages, and there are a number of spreads.

So here are a few of the cards. I assure you the colors are very vibrant and rich, if they don’t look it on-screen. I specifically included the Violet Angel to show some of the color in this deck. There’s a great underlying steampunk theme here too, very evident on a number of the cards.

Voodoo in blue Love this one, kind of how I’ve been feeling since the whole Overseer/Stalker incident the other day. The streaks in her hair are bright purple, but if I correct for that I lose some of the background which is a darkish green. The scans were high resolution, but I compress them when I put them online so some integrity is lost in the bitmap-to-jpg conversion. I hope you can get a sense of them, though.

Faceless Ghosts Poe Out Trick-or-Treating
Violet Angel Back Here’s the back of the cards. This fairy is also on card 21, Angel of Alchemy (Miracle).

All the cards have a main title and a keyword or phrase underneath. Even if you don’t normally go in for oracle decks (I typically don’t, although I have 5 or so) this is one to get. I even forgive her for the “Breaking Dawn” subtitle on the Violet Fairy.

If you’re not an EBay user, the seller has a shop with an online storefront, http://www.magicalomaha.com. She also included a stick of very nice incense, of which I think I may have go buy more. They also have a real store, if you happen to be in Omaha, NE.

7 thoughts on “Oracle of Shadows & Light

  1. Yes this is one deck to get – at least for me, which I haven’t yet, even though I have shuffled them courtesy of a friend. I am not sure if the new release cards are the same size as the original – I vaguely recall a discussion about this and like you, I’m too lazy to check this out since I have a moratorium on buying decks for a couple of months. Yeah.

    Thanks for sharing 🙂 Blessings.

  2. Hahah, yeah, I keep trying that, never lasts long 😉 I’m weak, what can I say?

    I checked the Amazon listing for the next edition, there are no card dimensions given. I took a quick look at the Facebook page (http://www.facebook.com/pages/Oracle-of-Shadows-Light/350227843185) and didn’t see any mention there either. I was just so astonished at what this first edition deck is going for now on the secondary market that when I saw this one at a reasonable price I thought, this is it, now or never! I get a little panicky when decks are becoming hard to find (if it’s one I like). This truly is my one addiction and weakness 😉

  3. I love the art work. It has a fun, macabre.ish feel.

    I’ve recently noticed that I’m drawn more to oracles than to tarot, though I don’t have a specific reason for this.

  4. It is a little on the macabre side but I think it’s rather empowering for women/girls (it seems to have been aimed at the YA crowd, but the grownups are taking to it, as well 😉 )

    I like oracles, but I’m so entrenched in Tarot, it’s hard to have to keep learning new systems with each oracle. I really love these cards though, and I like that they’re larger than standard decks.

  5. I haven’t bought this oracle yet, What would you advice me.. to go for the 1st edition or new one?

  6. I haven’t bought it yet as I was not getting it anywhere ,but I checked the shopping sites and now this deck is available.. what would you advice me? to go for the 1st edition or new one?

  7. Ooo, I don’t know. I haven’t seen the new one so I can’t compare the two, and don’t know what changes, if any, have been made, or if it’s just a reprint. If having first editions is important to you, then you can probably find a used copy on EBay. The second edition releases on April 17, 2012 so right around the corner. All I know for sure is they changed the image on the box cover. Sorry I can’t be more help!

What do you think?

