Mystic Faerie Tarot

Another new acquisition. I’m not sure why I was drawn to this, I guess part of the little girl that’s left in me still likes the pretty fairies and the soft, gentle colors in this deck. It’s ornate, with gold colored (not the metallic looking) borders on front and back. Plus I couldn’t resist it at $5. It was not brand new, but almost. The cards were still in the factory sealed plastic, so pretty darn close to brand new. The art is by Linda Ravenscroft, and Barbara Moore wrote the book. Moore has written a number Tarot books to accompany decks lately (Shadowscapes, Vampires Tarot of the Eternal Night, the Gilded Tarot among them). If you like her style you’ll like this book. I personally do. I find her interpretations clear and down-to-earth. Here’s a sample from the interpretation for The Lovers:

The fae couple provides your clue: Don’t choose in haste, and don’t necessarily choose what first catches your eye. Take your time. Assess your strengths and weaknesses. Imagine your life first with one choice and then the other. Which is best suited to provide balance in your life? Whatever you are considering bringing into your life, seek balance. Once  you have chosen, hold on passionately, and magic and beauty will follow.

Decent advice for anyone.

Maybe I just need a break from all the dark, goth-y decks I’ve been burying myself with. It seems to follow the same sort of idea used in the Art Nouveau Tarot by Matt Myers, in that the minors seem to follow a story. Each card builds on the previous one. The Wands concern two fairies who find an dragon egg and the ensuing events of raising this dragon once it hatches. If you don’t care about that, you can probably stick with Waite-Smith based meanings and do fine, but you won’t get the visual cues in the card. There are also some very interesting spreads in the book. I’ll try to feature some as time permits.

I think this would be a good deck to read with for young people, and also for younger students of Tarot who don’t connect with one of the more traditional (i.e., Waite-Smith or Thoth) decks. There is no nudity, and the fairies for the most part have a sort of child-like quality to them, especially in the minors.

7 thoughts on “Mystic Faerie Tarot

  1. It is, isn’t it? I guess the colors were too pretty to resist. I’m even liking the pinks, they’re sort of a subdued dusty rose color. I like the dragon on the Strength card. I’ve got a pre-order in for the new Baroque Bohemian Cats deck from Baba Studio, and it features a dragon on the Strength card as well. Hopefully you can see it here on their Facebook page. It’s a tarot bag with the image on it, I can’t find an image of the card itself.

  2. You’re right, they are very art nouveau which probably explains why I like them. I only recently got Matt Myers’ Art Nouveau deck, too. They are lovely, and would make wonderful framed art.

  3. What is that artist Mucha?

    Perhaps I might be a tarot nazi I do love art and symbolism within deck or a card. I find the new decks wonderful but in 20 years I still use the same Toth deck.

    Digital speaking of Tattoo’s I know this woman here and her art nouveau Tatt.

    Thank you again for your post.

  4. Oh, what an amazing tattoo, and it’s got to be a Mucha! I’m not sure which one it is, it looks like one of the decorative panels. He was a Czech artist, there’s a Mucha Museum in Prague. His work is very popular as posters and calendars and such. He did a lot of advertising posters, I have his “Bieres de La Muese” framed. AllPosters.com has tons of his work. He even did an advertising poster for Moet et Chandon, the champagne, and one for Nestle’s. Maybe you could ask your friend which painting that is?

    If I had a time machine I’d go back and convince him to do a Tarot deck 😉

What do you think?

