The Way Home

This is a reading I designed, because I couldn’t find anything to address my feelings and what I needed an answer to. This comes out of my obsession with the movie “The Eagle” which you can read about on my other blog: here, here, and here. I got it bad for this story, and I haven’t even read the original book yet.

What I wanted to know was, how do I go about finding my way back to this time and place, to these people? I know, it seems a ridiculous question to ask, but my connection to this time period and this place is so strong it affects nearly every waking moment for me. It could just be possible that I need mental health help, but since it seems unlikely I’m going to get any, I’m just going to go with it.

This is actually the very first spread that I designed myself. It’s relatively short, six cards, but more than that seems like information overload for the question. I have called it “The Way Home” spread. I used the Wildwood Tarot, which seemed incredibly a propos for this situation. Pre-Christian Celtic landscapes are what I’m all about right now.

Position 1: What I had and lost (what I want to regain): Seven of Vessels – Mourning

Seven of Vessels

This seemed puzzling at first. I was expecting something more along the lines of a happy card, but the way I interpret this is it’s showing the point of loss. If indeed I lived back then and there, this is where I lost it, at my death then. Or someone else’s death. I lost that world, where that mourning was taking place. Now, in all honesty, my beliefs about reincarnation are at best on the fence. I’m not entirely convinced there is such a thing, but if there is I’d be willing to bet this one was a very important go-round for me. My pagan side reasserted itself many years ago, despite years of Catholic indoctrination which have no such hold on my psyche. There is no sense of loss in having walked away from Catholicism. I want to be with these people who felt a strong connection to the land and to the spirit world.My pagan side reasserted itself many years ago, despite years of Catholic indoctrination which have no such hold on my psyche. There is no sense of loss in having walked away from Catholicism. I want to be with these people who felt a strong connection to the land and to the spirit world.

Positions 2 & 3: Steps to take to find my way back:

Page of Arrows The Woodward This seemed to call for two cards. The Wren on the Page of Arrows (or Swords, Air) was considered sacred to the Druids, and a guardian of the winter mysteries. The message, according to the book, is to study and apply what I learn, to gain wisdom and understanding. It speaks of nascent skills which will bring me to a ‘dynamic realization.’  The Woodward (this deck’s version of Strength) seems to be telling me of a great crisis that I must overcome by conquering my own dark fears, and harnessing the fierceness of the hunter. New sources of strength need to be realized and put into action. Well, I guess that’s reasonable. You can’t be wishy-washy when you want something this badly. New sources of strength need to be realized and put into action. Well, I guess that’s reasonable. You can’t be wishy-washy when you want something this badly.

Position 4: Who or what can help: Five of Arrows

Five of Arrows

Another puzzler. How does frustration help? I can only conclude that it helps by me learning not to give in to it. Like the hunter aiming at the goat nimbly leaping past the arrows being shot at him, I need to steady my mind and take a deep breath. I gather this will not be an easy journey. I need to remain focused on my goal, with an ability to laugh at myself along the way.  New sources of strength need to be realized and put into action. Well, I guess that’s reasonable. You can’t be wishy-washy when you want something this badly.New sources of strength need to be realized and put into action. Well, I guess that’s reasonable. You can’t be wishy-washy when you want something this badly.New sources of strength need to be realized and put into action. Well, I guess that’s reasonable. You can’t be wishy-washy when you want something this badly.New sources of strength need to be realized and put into action. Well, I guess that’s reasonable. You can’t be wishy-washy when you want something this badly.

Position 5: Something to watch out for, an obstacle in the road

The Mirror

Oh my. No easy answers in this one. My brain hurts from thinking about all this. I’m getting that I have to surrender, to this woman who is the guardian of the mysteries. I will have to submit to some kind of wounding, like the figure in the boat (even though I already feel wounded by this situation) and look deeply into the mirror, and look into the orb to gain understanding. The book says a surrender of will is required. Patience, not my strong suit, is called for. I can’t force this. Dammit. New sources of strength need to be realized and put into action. Well, I guess that’s reasonable. You can’t be wishy-washy when you want something this badly.New sources of strength need to be realized and put into action. Well, I guess that’s reasonable. You can’t be wishy-washy when you want something this badly.New sources of strength need to be realized and put into action. Well, I guess that’s reasonable. You can’t be wishy-washy when you want something this badly.New sources of strength need to be realized and put into action. Well, I guess that’s reasonable. You can’t be wishy-washy when you want something this badly.

Position 6: What I’ll find at the end of the road:

Moon on WaterOh, this one works for me. It’s a rebirth in the primordial waters, the orphic egg waiting to hatch. New understanding, but look at that neolithic landscape. It’s exactly where I want to be. “Beyond the flight of the sacred heron lies the fusion of our ancestral soul with the soul of the Earth.” I think it’s saying I’ll get as close as possible to who I was then, even if I can’t turn back the clock and be there, 2000 years ago. But I can reconstruct that persona, I can reclaim who I feel I was. I almost danced when I saw this one, it felt like someone was holding open the door to the past for me to walk through.

The Moon on Water heralds a time of inner transformation, initiation or awareness. This may take the form of a seemingly random situation based in the emotional or spiritual spheres, but your inner voice may have been whispering for some time and gone unheeded.

5 thoughts on “The Way Home

  1. And there was that big bright clear full moon the other night. The whole cosmos is calling you, dear, and the heavens are lighting your way. Step up boldly, and don’t forget to send us postcards!!

What do you think?

