Crystal Visions Tarot

After that last one I thought I’d shift gears and lighten the mood. Another recent arrival is the Crystal Visions Tarot by Jennifer Galasso. This is about as family-friendly as you can get, with the possible exception of The Devil card with a nude female figure reclining holding pomegranates, with Pan behind her. The rest of the deck is filled with angels, unicorns, butterflies, bubbles. It’s a girly deck, to be sure, with a strong fairy-tale feel to it. In fact almost all the people depicted are women, with the obvious exceptions of kings, The Hanged Man, The Heirophant, The Emperor, the Magician.

The color scheme throughout is lots of pinks, purples, rosy reds. The Wands have a more pronounced red than the rest, but none of them stray too far from this basic palette. I think that’s what attracted me to it, believe it or not (my him has been around again the last couple of days, almost like he’s decided I’ve gone too far and he’s pulling me back from the brink). For those days when I need something a little lighter this would be a good choice. As you can see the pips are illustrated which is always nice.

It also includes a unique card, “The Unknown Card” which is interpreted as things that have yet to unfold, and not enough is known about the situation when it shows up.

For those days when you need something really escapist, this would be a nice choice.

2 thoughts on “Crystal Visions Tarot

  1. Reds, pinks, and purples. My favorite colors. 🙂 Very nice artwork, but I think such a deck would be a little difficult for me to read from. Almost too pretty? Hmm…could see using this more for emotional queries (like how I use the Fairie Oracle) rather than divination.

  2. Oddly, for all my dark, fallen ways, I am so attracted to decks with rich coloring like this. Matt Myers’ Art Nouveau is another like that, and the Mystic Faerie Tarot, and that weird Cachet Tarot with the cartoony art but bold colors. Pretty to look at, but hard to read with.

What do you think?

