Going Lenormand

Submerina has been working with her Lenormand deck lately, which inspired me to bust out mine. Here’s the first Lenormand-style deck I ever got (not counting my Gypsy Witch cards that I’ve had since I was 10). I’ve had it for years, and I understand this particular version is somewhat hard to come by these days. Made me not want to take the plastic off it when I read that. Yes, I just today removed the plastic that was around the cards, they are mint and pristine. For years I had been thinking I had the “Blue Owl” deck, not sure if that’s what it is or not. From what little I’ve read about them, it seems to be the Dondorf style with the verses printed on the cards rather than pips. Also, the verses are in English. German and French versions can still be had, but the English version is out of print, from what I gather.

Despite my small collection of Lenormand decks, I’ve never gotten around to learning to read with them. I understand it’s all about card placement, which cards are next to eachother. Unlike Tarot, it’s not open to interpretation, but I’m sure there are readers out there reading intuitively with these cards. If you want to read that way, the card police won’t bother you. Here’s a source for Lenormands, but it’s in German. Shouldn’t be too hard to figure out, though, and you can at least see pictures of several Lenormand decks.  Also, this page at the same site lets you play with some readings and decks and start learning some of the card meanings.

So for my first read with this deck, I pulled two cards, kind of “What’s Happening?” and “What Do I Need to Know?”

The Child is a good card, signifying being held in high esteem by friends and colleagues. The Scythe indicates danger, but if surrounded by good cards this can be mitigated. Forewarned is forearmed and all that. So, there’s danger, but my friends can help keep me safe? Feel free to chime in if you’re up on these cards and can shed some insight.

 

5 thoughts on “Going Lenormand

  1. Of *course* you have a Blue Owl… ::jelly::

    The card the Scythe faces away from can indicate a harvest; the Child is new beginnings. Could indicate the end of something you’ve recently begun. Then again, the Scythe could just be a warning of pain to come (Lenormand seems quite hung up on pain and injury – given the time it was developed, who can blame it really? :))

  2. Oh cool, thanks! The little book that came with them is pretty short on info. I’ll take a look at that site, thanks. Still thinking about getting the Sylvie Steinbach book.

    I guess even back then it was more dramatic and fashionable to predict danger, gotta keep ’em entertained after all 😉

    All this time I couldn’t bring myself to unwrap them from the plastic. I love to keep my decks in pristine condition and I knew this one was getting hard to find because I never saw it anywhere. Once they’re hard to find, I almost hate to use them for fear of damaging them. Argh.

  3. I have the Sylvie Steinbach book and I’m not overly impressed; I expected *more*, based on all the “this is the only Len book you’ll ever need!!!!” reviews.

  4. Oh, that’s disappointing. Yeah, I saw those reviews. Good to know, that’ll save me a few bucks. The site you linked to looks really good, as soon as I have more time I’ll read through it more thoroughly.

What do you think?

