Pixie’s Astounding Lenormand

I saw the first edition of this on Ebay some time back and stupidly did not get a copy. It’s now on the second edition, or “Pam B” as the creator is calling it. It’s Pixie’s Astounding Mlle. Lenormand cards, by Edmund Zebrowski. I didn’t get them on Ebay, however, I went straight to the creator’s site, delphischamber.com and ordered them there. And you can, too.  They just started shipping on July 30, but it’s limited to 400 copies so they probably won’t last long. We collectors don’t like to wait too long for these things. He’s also got one out called Day of the Dead Lenormand, and is working on the Lenormand de Marseille, which he hopes to have out early fall, 2012.

Pixie’s Astounding Lenormand is based on images from the Pam A version of the Rider-Waite-Smith deck (which the creator managed to score a copy of on Ebay for an undisclosed but apparently breathtaking amount of money), along with other illustrations of Smith’s from childrens books. Pixie did a lot more than just that deck. There are even a couple of her pictures hanging in the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum in Santa Fe, NM. Stopped me in my tracks when I saw them.

The artwork is of course immediately recognizable, so if you’re a fan of the RWS deck, as I am, you’ll probably like this little gem. The back design features the blue and white rose & lily pattern. I only wish I hadn’t missed out on the first edition, which is sold out.

Coffin and Garden

Letter and Ring

If you’re a Tarot person who is new to Lenormand style decks, this might be a good transition deck. Since the art is so recognizable you might feel more at home with it.

It comes with a small fold-out sheet of paper with minimal meanings given on it, so learning to read with a Lenormand deck will have to be learned elsewhere. I understand the two English books available on the subject are somewhat lacking.

 

4 thoughts on “Pixie’s Astounding Lenormand

  1. Crap. I can’t believe you managed to snag one of these!! (That’s what I get for taking an internet time-out.) Jelly as always 😉 I _just_ got my Day of the Dead Lenormand today, so I can’t be too sad though! Maybe I’ll be quick enough to ge the Marseille Lenormand when Edmund’s done with that one.

  2. This is the second edition, not the first. I’m pretty sure he’s got more of these, since they just started shipping like a week ago. I’m on the fence about the Day of the Dead Lenormand. How do you like it?

  3. Nope, the Pixie Lenormand is sold out :C As for the DotD, gurrrrl, it’s full of skeletons and bright colours – WHAT DO YOU THINK??? 😉 My only bitch is that a few of the images are cut off at the edges; not that they were trimmed wrong, but rather that the images were sized too large for the cards.

    BUT it almost doesn’t bother me because it somehow adds to the charm and “authenticity” of the deck, like one of those “real gypsy fortune telling” decks you’d buy in a down-the-scary-alley, dodgy-looking, hole-in-the-wall that is actually full of awesome and real Live Magic (TM).

    I am way more ::disappoint:: with the colour production on the Mary-El. It’s why I haven’t blogged it yet; still getting over the ::disappoint::

  4. Holy hell!! I can’t believe they’re gone already! There may be hope, but you’ll probably have to act quickly. Look for an email from me.

    So sorry to hear about the Mary-El. That is a real downer. I held off on that one due to some criticism I saw online of the system attributions in the deck. I’m too easily confused and if something is too far off from whatever I have already stored in my feeble brain, it’s like it’s forever tainted. I’ll never be able to use the deck. Stupid and totally neurotic, I know, but that’s me.

What do you think?

