Retreat

Again, 3 cards with the Witches Tarot by Ellen Dugan, and again I have the Hermit.

The Seven of Cups of course indicates choices to be made, things being offered. According to the book that comes with the deck, you choose one cup and then go with what the contents indicate. For instance, if I decide the red dragon looks good at the moment, this would indicate fire and the power of transformation. I would need to think about what kind of passion and power I can manifest in the world.

The Eight of Pentacles is about single-minded devotion to an act, mastering a trade, staying focused. I guess whatever I choose, I need to give it my all.

The Hermit showing up again indicates I still need to take time for myself. Oh dear Mr. Hermit, if only.  This is my whole problem now, no time for the things I want to do. I spend my whole life doing other people’s bidding, and there is nothing left for me. I started crocheting a sweater last winter. I never even finished the back piece. Think I ever will? Probably not. How do we let our lives come to this? Why is there no way out? I sit here typing this, with the tv on, sound muted, showing a movie I’ve wanted to see for awhile but still don’t have time to focus on while I listen to the dryer spinning a load of laundry I had to do tonight so I’d have clothes for work tomorrow. And in not too much time from now I need to get to sleep so I can remain awake at work tomorrow.

So after pulling those three, I felt the need to consult my Fallen Angel deck.

Once again, I have no idea how the meanings were arrived at for these cards. This one supposedly indicates a period of rest so I can decide what to do. Makes me a little nervous. Am I headed for another unemployment period? I don’t see how else I’ll ever have time. Decarabia supposedly has a way with birds, either commanding them or controlling them. Maybe I should spend time over at the local wetlands watching the birds.

Yeah, ok. As soon as I have time.

2 thoughts on “Retreat

  1. I really like these images from the Witches Tarot. I have a Witches Tarot too, but I think it’s an older different tarot deck to the one you are working with. I have 3 decks coming my way so I promised myself I won’t get any more until next year. I think I’ll add this one to the list. The Hermit and 7 of Cups go together well – exploring and thinking about options, plans etc, without actually doing anything about it (yet). I think these 2 cards go with the Recuperation card you drew as well – not a time for action, just contemplation and planning of options. At least that is what I see, possibly related to work or training of some kind (8 of Pentacles). 🙂

    • Yes, this is the third deck I have called Witches: Witches Tarot by Ellen Cannon Reed, the Tarot of the Witches by Fergus Hall, and now this. I’ve slowed down on the deck acquisitions myself but I’ve pre-ordered two that have yet to come out (the 2nd ed of the Victorian Romantic by Baba Studio, and a self-pubbed deck I found on Kickstarter, the Symbolist Tarot).

      These cards make me think I’m missing something, not seeing a choice, or not focusing in the right direction. I definitely need to give that some thought.

What do you think?

