Efflorescent Tarot

I ran across this on Etsy way back in May, but at the time there was only a black & white version available.  While I love b&w decks, I was enchanted by the images of colored cards that were posted at the time. I think the creator had printed some colored decks, but they were all sold out, so I emailed her and asked if there was going to be another print run. She had hoped at the time to possibly do one in a couple of months, but either I  missed it or she put it off to this month. I pre-ordered the deck just a couple weeks ago, and it arrived earlier this week.

So here we have the Efflorescent Tarot, by Katie Rose Pipkin.  “Efflorescent” means “bursting into flower.” For all that, some of the characters like the Empress and the Magician, along with the landscapes, seem very bleak. The people have remarkably large hands, out of proportion with the rest of the bodies, but long, elegant, angular. It’s Rider-Waite based,  but the Major Aracana are unnumbered so you could see Strength as 8 and Justice as 11, or vice versa, depending on your preference. Most of the cards match up pretty closely to RWS, but some are more of a departure. I really like the artwork and style. I haven’t had a chance to even try a reading with it yet, hopefully soon.

empress magicianMoon - 3 PentaclesHermit Ace of CupsThe cards are a generously sized at 3 1/2 x 5″. The stock is good, should hold up well to shuffling. They come in the same box shown at the Etsy site, much nicer than a little tuck box. I think I’ll make a special bag to carry them in, though. I like extra padding in bags to protect the precious cargo.

The Etsy site gives a link to a website that is supposed to have all the cards, but as of this writing, the page was not found – katierosepipkin.com/tarotdeck .

2 thoughts on “Efflorescent Tarot

What do you think?

