Daily Tarot Card–Two of Cups

Color’s a little off, the borders are more white than they look in this, but it had to be a fast shot this morning. SM 2 of Cups

This is from the Sun and Moon Tarot by Vanessa Decort.

I think I got this card before very recently, and I’m struggling to understand it. The 2 of Cups is of course a water card, and usually indicates romantic love, 2 people coming together, a union. I always say “usually” when I talk about card meanings, because things can always go deeper than the textbook meanings most of us are familiar with.

I will say no romance has blossomed in my life, so I’m thinking it’s one of the other meanings. There are no romantic prospects even: I go to work, I go home. There is no opportunity to meet anyone. I’m not even really interested in meeting anyone. I’ve been in a bad marriage and have no wish to repeat it. So this love that keeps cropping up must be another kind of love, something close to my heart, or my heart’s desire. Now the trick is to figure out what that could be. My writing springs to mind first thing. Maybe I should focus on one of the romantic stories I’m toying with.

The hard part for me about writing romance is I just don’t really believe in it. So why do these ideas keep coming to me? Maybe it’s social conditioning. We’re so saturated with romance and romantic plots in books and movies and tv that whether we like it or not it’s always around us. Can I write a convincing, compelling romance if the concept is anathema to me? Deep down, part of me must still wish it was real.

2 thoughts on “Daily Tarot Card–Two of Cups

  1. In many decks, the two of cups is supposed to be a romantic love. But in the classic RWS, I take it to mean any sort of connection you have with any other person, for any amount of time. It doesn’t have to be anything spectacular. It makes me think of the Billy Joel lyric “They’re sharing a drink they call loneliness, but it’s better than drinking alone.”

What do you think?

